Texas News Texas Press Association
Home News Sports Business Entertainment Jobs Opinions Public Notices
Central Texas East Texas North Texas Panhandle South Texas West Texas Search

Congress acts to help ease vets on to Honor Flights
Midland Reporter-Telegram / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 18:28:00 -0600
AUSTIN -- It shouldn’t take an act of Congress to help expedite the airport screening process for elderly World War II vets headed to Washington to see the monument this nation built for them. It shou

Men arrested on cocaine possession charges
Midland Reporter-Telegram / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 23:00:00 -0600
Two men were arrested Thursday after officers allegedly found them smoking marijuana and in possession of a stolen firearm and cocaine, according to court documents.

Jade McNew: 3 days until Christmas
news-journal.com / Mon, 22 Dec 2014 04:00:00 -0600
Name: Jade McNew

Post office staff reports mailbox thefts
amarillo.com / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 22:05:42 +0000

Police are investigating multiple mailbox thefts in the Amarillo area on Saturday.

Mail from two mail collection boxes outside of the U.S. Postal Service at 2301 S. Ross St. was stolen and the boxes were damaged.

Police think mail dropped off between 10:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. was stolen.

U.S. Postal Service mail collection boxes at 505 E. Ninth Ave., 5000 S. Western St. and 307 S. Western St. were damaged and mail might have been stolen from those locations as well.

read more

Spearman man killed, 2 hurt in accident
amarillo.com / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 22:40:52 +0000

One man was killed
and two people were seriously injured in a wreck near Perryton on
Saturday afternoon.

About 12:05 p.m. Saturday, a Mack truck towing a trailer was traveling southbound on State Highway 70 when it was struck from behind by a GMC Terrain as the Mack attempted to make a left turn on an oil lease road, a Texas Department of Public Safety news release said.

read more

Empty Stocking Fund: Man with Parkinson’s, cancer needs tools to stay limber
amarillo.com / Mon, 22 Dec 2014 01:10:26 +0000

Disease threatens to take away one man’s passion.

Empty Stocking Fund Recipient No. 26 enjoys working with his hands, helping others with household projects. But the onset of Parkinson’s disease and arthritis restricts his abilities.

He also has been diagnosed with cancer of the mouth and stomach.

The man’s monthly income is minimal.

He receives $563 per month in Supplemental Security Income, $165 per month in Social Security and $18 per month in food stamps.

read more

Calendar for Monday, Dec. 22, 2014
amarillo.com / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 23:12:44 +0000


Music for Turkeys food drive and concert: 8 p.m. Featuring Angelica Hart, Mustard, Nova and South of the Sun. Friendz Cocktail Lounge & Grill, 711 S.W. 10th Ave. Cover $7 or $5 with canned good. 806-331-7305.


Bishop Hills Christmas lights tour: 6:30 to 10 p.m. Free; donations accepted for Amarillo Downtown Lions Club. 806-418-4192.

read more

Amarillo police search for armed robber
amarillo.com / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 22:42:27 +0000

Amarillo police are searching for a man they said robbed an Amarillo Boulevard business with a gun Saturday.

Officers were sent to Michelle’s Billiards, 5641 E. Amarillo Blvd., on a robbery report about 4:15 p.m.

The female victim told police she answered a knock at the door to find a man wearing a ski mask holding a small silver handgun.

The robber pointed the gun at the employee and demanded money. He fled the building on foot and might have gone east and then north.

Police said there were no injuries or arrests.

read more

Longview road report for the week of Dec. 21
news-journal.com / Mon, 22 Dec 2014 04:00:00 -0600
The city of Longview has scheduled the following projects that may affect traffic this week across the city:

Today in History for Monday, Dec. 22
amarillo.com / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 23:13:04 +0000

■ On Dec. 22, 1944, during the World War II Battle of the Bulge, U.S. Brig. Gen. Anthony C. McAuliffe rejected a German demand for surrender, writing “Nuts!” in his official reply.

■ In 1775, Esek Hopkins was appointed the commander-in-chief of the Continental Navy.

■ In 1864, during the Civil War, Union Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman said in a message to President Abraham Lincoln: “I beg to present you as a Christmas-gift the city of Savannah.”

read more

Best of Beilue: Ben Britt was always a giver, never a taker
amarillo.com / Mon, 22 Dec 2014 01:08:49 +0000

Editor’s note: This column, taken from Jon Mark Beilue’s book, “This Might be a Good Story ...” first appeared in the Amarillo Globe-News on Jan. 1, 2006.

It didn’t take long to see that Ben Britt was cut from a different cloth, that he was not like most in a special way.

“No doubt about it,’’ said his high school football teammate, Kyle Masters.

“He was destined to make it big. He was brilliant.’’

Ben was impossible to stereotype, hard to fit into any one mold.

read more

As statewide smoking ban stalls, cities go it alone
Midland Reporter-Telegram / Sun, 21 Dec 2014 18:24:00 -0600
A decision by the Paris City Council in March to ban smoking in public places, including restaurants, angered Brent McKee.

Panhandle Community Services adds public technology hubs
amarillo.com / Mon, 22 Dec 2014 01:08:24 +0000

Panhandle Community Services is branching out computer technology to its locations throughout the Texas Panhandle to help seniors and low-income residents access Social Security, medical care and other services.

The Amarillo nonprofit has budgeted more than $100,000 to create computer hubs in Amarillo, Borger, Canyon, Childress, Clarendon, Dalhart, Dimmitt, Dumas, Hereford, Pampa, Perryton, Shamrock and Tulia.

read more

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Keep Texas Notified

Public Notices